Want to talk about classic motorboats, recent and forthcoming CMBA events or your latest escapades? This is the place to do it!

Moderators: Alacrity, Rapier

Johng
CMBA Member: 0

Post by Johng »

Hi all, thanks to a very helpful chap* I came across on Ebay, I have found my way here .. I couldn't see an introductions page so thought I would say hi in the general area...

I am John, 34, in Kent, UK and I spend a lot of time with car and bike engines as a hobby...

I brought a small (13.5') speedboat last month, and am going about getting it on the water as best as I can. I am learning quite quickly, but a complete newbie to boats..

The boat needs everything, except the engine, as it came with an old suzuki 400cc twin 2st (possibly an early DT20- no ID)
The hull does look good. the 'deck' has been sanded, there are no seats, controls, trim or metalwork, the fibreglass internal floor has been partial cut out for reasons I can't fathom.

I now believe the boat to be a Shakespeare skiman..

The powerhead has been removed to allow me to fix a stuck gear selection shaft. I am now making gaskets to help get her back together to see if she runs.. the carb is now clean and there is a spark on both plugs.

*I am also preparing to make a screen, and the chap, Dave, that mentioned this site has very kindly given me a template for his shake, there is a very good chance it will be a close fit to mine, and I will be printing a scaled template on clear film, then cutting cheap ply, before I spend money on perspex.

I do have some pics on a blog.
I will read through all there is on here :thumbsup:
Cheers for now
John :wot:

Alacrity
Site Admin
CMBA Member: 641

Re: newbie

Post by Alacrity »

Welcome to the site. Plenty to keep you occupied reading through the posts here!

Put up a link to your blog - it will be of interest to us & will help us if/when you ask questions.

Geoff