westbend Oring or clip?

For pre 1975 outboards and race motors only.

Moderators: Alacrity, Rapier

carl minshall

westbend Oring or clip?

Post by carl minshall »

Hi,

Can anyone please tell me on the crank case, of a 35/40 HP westbend outboard, do I need a O ring or clip to go in the groove between the lower crank shaft bearing and oil seal? For some reason I did not take a picture of what was there
thanks carl.

floater
CMBA Member: 90

Re: westbend Oring or clip?

Post by floater »

I have no experience of west bend motors but I would expect there to be a circlip or some sort of ring to stop the bearing being pushed out by crankshaft end loads or gravity as its the bottom one, unless the bearing sits against some sort of step.

If you could upload a picture that would be useful.

carl minshall

Post by carl minshall »

Hi
Will try to upload some pics as some I've got my head around my new Photoshop elements, I think the west bend engine is the same as a Chrysler?
Carl.

carl minshall

Post by carl minshall »

westbend engine crankcase pic
Attachments
DSCF0874.JPG

se7en
CMBA Member: 434

Post by se7en »

I would agree with floater, a circlip, if you look at the photo and think about the assembly, 1, there is no reason to put an O ring in the grove, the assembly will be sealed by the oil seal. 2, the circlip will stop the oil seal moving back into the bearing when fitting the gear case and locating the drive shaft into the crankshaft spline.

Rapier
Site Admin
CMBA Member: 569

Post by Rapier »

Am not sure which model you have, as the changeover was in '65, but many parts of the design were carried over & a lot of the change was purely cosmetic. My Early Chrysler 35/45 & 50hp factory manual shows no circlip in the expanded Crank & Piston views. It says 'lower bearing race seats in locating pin' (as do main and upper bearings) in the block. Crankshaft dissasembly is explained just as A. Slide seal and lower main bearing off crankshaft